Stop #17 the Portrait Gallery stop will be closed for the upcoming future due to major construction. Guest can walk three blocks west to 10th and E St NW which is stop #1, the Welcome Center to board the trolley. We apologize for any inconvenience and will notify when that stop opens.
Arlington Cemetery Tours will not operate on December 14, 2019 and January 11, 2020. Volunteers from Wreaths Across America will be placing wreaths on the grave sites here on December 14th and removing them on January 11th. The box office at the cemetery will be open on both those days for future tickets sales but no tour will be available.
Arlington House was built by George Washington Parke Custis as a memorial to his adopted grandfather, George Washington. The house is full of history. It is more commonly known as the Robert E. Lee Memorial because Lee lived there for approximately 30 years. Lee married Parke Custis’ daughter Mary. They lived on the grounds until the start of the Civil War in 1861. During the war, the house, which was located on strategic high ground, became a campsite for Union troops. Arlington House sits on a hill overlooking the Potomac River and the District. You do not want to miss this panoramic view of our nation’s capital. Other things of interest on the grounds include a museum about the Lees, a book shop, and a former slave quarter.