The first and original amphitheater on the Arlington grounds was built in 1873 for the fifth Decoration Day (known today as Memorial Day). The celebration quickly outgrew the amphitheater and that’s why the new Memorial Amphitheater was built. The name was changed to the James Tanner Amphitheater in May of 2014 as part of the 150th anniversary of the cemetery. Tanner was a Civil War veteran and served as President Lincoln’s stenographer. He is buried in Section Two very close to the amphitheater.