The Old Jail Museum will be closed Monday, January 7,2019 for maintenance work. The Ghost and Gravestone tour for that day is also cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Important information regarding Stop #20 closure and Ghosts & Gravestones boarding location:
Our Welcome Center, Stop 20, is temporarily closed. The St. Augustine Ghosts & Gravestones boarding location has changed temporarily to the Old Town Trolley Welcome Center at 1305 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd. These changes will remain until the construction of our new Welcome Center at 27 San Marco is complete (Spring 2019).
logo-print
Skip to content
Close
CALL
open search box

A College Dining Hall with Tiffany Windows

Every day in the Golden Triangle of historic St. Augustine, college students walk to and from their dorm rooms to class surrounded by Gilded Age luxury.   These students attend Flagler College, whose main campus building was once the magnificent Ponce de Leon Hotel, designed by Carrere & Hastings for Henry Flagler. The elaborate hotel opened its dramatically carved doors to its first guests on January 12, 1888.

  • Admissions Admissions
  • Entertainment Entertainment
  • Restrooms Restrooms

In 1968, when Flagler College acquired the splendidly ornate, architecturally complex resort hotel, it became a college campus. The beautifully appointed hotel, with its grand, domed Rotunda, which received arriving guests, and hotel rooms where they stayed, were re-purposed as Ponce de Leon Hall, primarily a residence hall.

When classes are is session, students crisscross through lavish halls, loggias and gardens, walk under the elaborate murals of the Rotunda, and attend lectures in the Flagler Room and Solarium. Most remarkable of all, they have their meals in the original 3 ½ story, oval Dining Hall, in which jeweled light streaming through 79 Louis Comfort Tiffany stained-glass windows casts a beautiful glow on hand-painted murals on the walls and ceiling. What a place to have a burger!

Up Up
Back to top
Online Chat