Our Welcome Center, Stop 20, is temporarily closed. The St. Augustine Ghosts & Gravestones boarding location has changed temporarily to the Old Town Trolley Welcome Center at 1305 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd. These changes will remain until the construction of our new Welcome Center at 27 San Marco is complete (Spring 2019).
The historic Ximenez-Fatio house, built in 1798, sits on America’s first platted thoroughfare, completed in 1572 under the auspices of King Philip II of Spain and was in use 35 years before the Jamestown colony was founded in Virginia.
Archaeologically, the house sits on one of the most frequently dug sites in St. Augustine. During a dig in 2002 a rare cross from Caravaca, Spain was discovered and is on display for guests to view in the museum’s Visitor Center.