Our Welcome Center, Stop 20, is temporarily closed. The St. Augustine Ghosts & Gravestones boarding location has changed temporarily to the Old Town Trolley Welcome Center at 1305 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd. These changes will remain until the construction of our new Welcome Center at 27 San Marco is complete (Spring 2019).
Ancient City Baptist Church was organized January 20, 1887 with 18 charter members. The tan brick sanctuary with its Norman tower and oval stained glass windows was dedicated on February 2, 1896.
Henry Flagler gave the lot with the following condition – the congregation had only 2 years to qualify for the gift by erecting their house of worship at a cost of not under $10,000-debt free. The final cost was $14,345.37 and the congregation met Flagler’s challenge and was “debt-free”. It was renovated in 1953, and again in 2003, when a group of men from the church led by retired glass craftsman Dee Tarrant repaired the original stained glass windows and designed new matching windows where they were needed.