Stop #6 will be closed” and “All “Green” loop trolleys will service stop #17A, please allow up to 20 additional minutes of travel time and plan accordingly.
The Park Street Church was founded in 1809 by 26 locals who were mainly former members of the Old South Meeting House. The church became known as Brimstone Corner, possibly because the area was used for the storage of gunpowder during the War of 1812. In 1816, the Park Street Church joined the Old South Church and formed the City Mission Society, which served Boston’s poor. The church was the site of many firsts, including the nation’s first Sunday School in 1818, first prison aid in 1824, and William Lloyd Garrison’s first public statement against slavery in 1829. Park Street Church can be seen from the various surrounding neighborhoods because of its steeple, rising 217 ft. high. Open to visitors summer time only.