Our Welcome Center, Stop 20, is temporarily closed. The St. Augustine Ghosts & Gravestones boarding location has changed temporarily to the Old Town Trolley Welcome Center at 1305 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd. These changes will remain until the construction of our new Welcome Center at 27 San Marco is complete (Spring 2019).
Due to the 4th of July fireworks that will be held in downtown St. Augustine, the last Old Town Trolley Tour will leave Stop 1 at 3:00 p.m. on July 4th.
Ghosts and Gravestones will be closed for the 4th of July.
The last tour for the Old Jail and the Oldest Store Museum Experience will be 4:30 p.m. Potter’s Wax Museum will close at 4:30 p.m.
We apologize for any inconvenience and hope everyone enjoys the Fireworks over the Matanzas.
As with many of the significant sites in our nation’s oldest city, the Tolomato Cemetery offers visitors a glimpse into the diverse history of the people who lived and died in St. Augustine. It’s one of Florida’s oldest cemeteries, and is known to be the final resting place of many confederate soldiers. Before 1763, the Cemetery was the site of the Christian Indian Village of Tolomato.
When Great Britain acquired Florida, the village was abandoned, until 1777 when Father Pedro Camps, pastor of the Minorcan colonists, obtained permission from Governor Patrick Tonyn to establish this cemetery for his parishioners.
Father Camps was buried here in 1790; and the first bishop of St. Augustine, Augustin Verot is buried in the mortuary chapel at the rear of the cemetery. The last burial took place in 1892.