James Robinson originally built the Robinson-Rose House in 1853 to serve as his family’s residence and to provide office space for the San Diego Herald and the Gila Railroad. When Robinson died four years later, the home was sold to Louis Rose. The reconstructed building is the location for the park Visitor Center, which opens at 10 a.m. each day. One of the center’s displays is a scale model of Old Town created by Joseph Toigo, which depicts the community as it appeared in 1872. Other displays also provide interesting details about Old Town San Diego. Rangers are on hand to answer visitors’ questions.